Annual Contest

The Comstock Review Annual Poetry Contest 2015


First Prize: $1,000 (The Muriel Craft Bailey Memorial Award)
Second Prize: $250 Third Prize: $100 All entries receive a one-year subscription.
Honorable Mentions receive an extra one-year subscription.

Here’s how it works — Our editorial staff chooses approximately fifty to sixty finalists. The highest scoring finalists (25 or so) are considered Special Merit poems. Special Merit poems go to the judge. The judge determines the top three prize winners. The entire editorial staff then selects the Honorable Mentions from the remaining Special Merits.

The Rules:
1. Each poem on a separate 8.5 x 11 page, typed.
2. Poems must be original, unpublished in ANY medium, print or electronic. We do not accept simultaneous submissions. The Comstock Review reserves the first refusal rights if there is any error in the poet’s records that results in simultaneous submission. Editors have the right to disqualify all poems submitted by a poet if there is any question of previous publication or notice of acceptance elsewhere by accident.
3. No poem must exceed 40 lines, beginning with the first line of text below the title. DO NOT count blank lines. Please also consider our 65-character line width when submitting.
4. Name and ALL contact information on the REVERSE side of EACH poem entered. If not, we have to disqualify any/or all poems lacking this information. Contact information submitted on the front of poems will disqualify entries.
5. Send SASE for results only. No poems will be returned.

6. All Prize Winners, Honorable Mentions, and Special Merit Poems are considered accepted work, and will be published. Authors receive a oneyear subscription in addittion to any prizes.
7. PLEASE NOTE: The entry fee is $25 for 1 to 5 poems, including a one-year subscription to The Comstock Review, beginning with the contest edition. Additional poems $5 each.  

Send to: The Comstock Review Summer Contest, 4956 St. John Drive, Syracuse, NY 13215

Submission Period Opens April 1st annually Deadline: July 1st (postmark)

The Comstock Review presents the winners of the 2014 Muriel Craft Bailey Contest

Judge: Kwame Dawes

First Prize, $1,000
Brionne Janae of Medford, MA for Momma Blues

Second Prize, $250
Katherine Christensen of Durango, CO for The Right Words

Third Prize, $100
Jeanne Julian of New Bern, NC for The Insouciant Translator

Honorable Mention Poets will be selected from the Special Merit poems by
The Comstock Review Editors, posted on the website and on our Facebook page
Honorable Mention poets receive a one year subscription to Comstock Review

Special Merit Recognition Poets in Alphabetic Order
Leslie Danel Batty of Lafayette, IN for Meanwhile
Helen Marie Casey of Sudbury, MA for Clamor of Prayer
Sharon L. Charde of Lakeville, CT for This Morning
John Davis of Bainbridge Island, WA (2 poems) Locomotive
and Phone Call
Teresa Gilman of Syracuse, NY ( two poems) Meet me
and Rustling change
Michael Harty of Prairie Village, KS for Retirement
Don Judson of Attleboro, MA for Easter
Steve Lautermilch of Kill Devil Hills, NC 2 [poems) A Standing Wave
and Hokusai Aside
Ed McManis of Larkspur, CA for Joan Marlowe Dances
Alice Osborn of Raleigh, NC, for LBJ Takes Off
Kathleen R. O’Toole of Takoma Park, MD for Sarah, Siren
Sophia Rivkin of Southfield, MI for Little Songs for Sylvia Plath
Jamie Ross of Carson, NM for In the Whinny of Lost Horses
Lisa J. Sullivan of Plymouth, MA for The Childless Mother
Jeanne Wagner of Kensington, CA (three  poems) Ceteris Paribus; Eve After Eve;
and My Mother’s Ataxia.
Paul Weidknect of Philipsburg, NJ for Wishing you Knew Jersey

All poems listed will be published in CR Vol. 28, #2.  ISSUE IS IN PRESS 2/2015.
All poems are screened by the Comstock Review Editors.
Editors and Final Judge do not know the poets’ names until winners are selected.